How to View Your Crappy Job to Take Advantage of It Instead of Complaining About It

Some call it a “golden handcuff” but it helps to see it more like a “skill development facility”.

RJ Reyes
Quick 1
2 min readMar 28, 2023

--

Photo by Thea Ye on Unsplash

I don’t love my job.

I don’t hate it either.

Instead of calling it a “golden handcuff”, I taught myself to see it more like a “skill development facility”. Why? I get to apply and develop whatever current interest I’m learning to it… and get paid while doing it.

If that’s not a good deal, I don’t know what is.

Of course, not all companies are created equal.

Some may say that their company prohibits them from growing their career. If that’s the case, then you should probably quit instead of rallying a group to make that change you all hope for. A lot of times, these complaints are ignored.

Much like romantic relationships, it’s so much easier to quit and be with a company that would value your skills and experience.

I get how that’s a lot easier said than done.

But instead of waiting for the perfect opportunity, why not leverage the time you have left in your crappy company to further develop the skills you currently have?

The goal is to get good at it such that you can leverage it in your future employment.

This explains why I’ve jumped from one company to another.

Now, I get how this is bad for your work history and when you’re applying for other jobs. But that’s only if you fail to communicate the reason why you’re doing it. Here’s what I typically say to justify it:

“I cared about my career growth. Applying for different positions and different companies gave me a better understanding of how manufacturing companies work. The more exposure I get, the better I can identify the areas where I can provide the most value. Today, I have a clear idea of what I wanted to do for at least 10 years. That explains why I’m applying for this position…”

--

--

RJ Reyes
Quick 1

I ghostwrite mini-books for leaders in the manufacturing industry to amplify their credibility