Mastering the Basics Increases Your Potential Value and Helps You Avoid the Layoff List

RJ Reyes
Quick 1
Published in
2 min readMar 21, 2023

--

Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Getting laid off by big manufacturing companies is not uncommon.

The bigger the company is, the more standard processes they have in place, the less likely they’re going to rely too much on their low-level employees. I may be able to explain to my superior how I’m better than the others but it doesn’t change the fact that I’m still replaceable. Regardless if I get laid off or not, the company will find a way to keep going and adapt to changes.

To reduce my chances of getting on the layoff list, I need to be good at demonstrating my value as if I’m not getting paid enough for the value I create.

One of the best ways to do that is to master the “boring” basics. Here’s how:

You are more likeable

You annoy less people by avoiding to ask questions with obvious answers.

Insights from doing the basics can be transferrable

What you learn from doing one thing can be applied to other areas of your job. Miyamoto Musashi, the samurai who was able to draw lessons on philosophy through sword mastery.

It teaches the kind of patience that lead to results

Advancing your skills at an accelerated rate may show how fast you learn. That from a hindsight, makes you look valuable. However, a lot of times, your actions and the questions you ask show how much you really know.

I may be good at modifying Excel formulas and VB programming. But if you ask me if I knew exactly what I’m modifying, I wouldn’t be able to answer you. That’s because I did not learn the basics of programming.

I’m just good at replacing words and test my changes through countless number of trials and error.

In other words, my approach is very inefficient.

If I spent time learning the basics, I’m more likely to become efficient at what I do, thus, creating more value to the company.

--

--

RJ Reyes
Quick 1

I ghostwrite mini-books for leaders in the manufacturing industry to amplify their credibility