What I Learned After 5+ Years of Failing to Build Another Source of Income (In Addition to My 9–5 Job)

RJ Reyes
Quick 1
Published in
1 min readMar 1, 2023

--

Photo by Polina Zimmerman

I’ve been trying to build another source of income (on the side) for about 5+ years now.

I’ve taken online courses and all that. My inbox is filled with newsletters about solopreneurship and anything that touches on the category of “making money from your expertise”. I’m sure there is something I’m doing wrong.

Or perhaps, I’m too early in the process and my frustrations are really just a sign of impatience.

These 3 are some of my biggest realizations you should be aware of if you’re trying to achieve the same goal as me:

  • Inability to recognize conflicting goals can significantly slow you down
  • The truth about my ability to provide value to others
  • How much harder it is than most marketers make it

How about you?

How far along are you on this journey?

--

--

RJ Reyes
Quick 1

I ghostwrite mini-books for leaders in the manufacturing industry to amplify their credibility