7 Python Libraries to Make Automation Easy

Natig Babayev
Quick Code
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2021

--

Photo by Sai Kiran Anagani on Unsplash

Often it’s hard to find inspiration to automate using Python. I think knowing packages might give you an idea of what to automate. In this article, I’ll talk about 7 Python packages that can inspire your next automation.

Requests

Usually, when you want to automate something, you might come across APIs. Requests is a simple to use HTTP library for Python library that allows you to make requests and interact with APIs.

To replicate a request easily, I open the Network tab in Google Chrome, select the request I want to repeat, and click Copy as cURL. And then, I paste the cURL command to some converter and get the Python code I need.

Pro tip: if you want to run your automation without keeping your laptop on all the time, one easy way is using Github actions.

APScheduler

When I make some API request, I usually want to run it periodically, like every fifteen minutes or so. For this kind of case, I use a package called Advanced Python Scheduler. The library has really nice documentation, which will allow you to take it into use very fast. In fact, I used APScheduler when building a screenshot automation using Python and Google Calendar project.

CSV

--

--

Natig Babayev
Quick Code

Senior Software Developer based in Helsinki, Finland