9 Stories That Have Predicted Things Accurately I’ve Written This Year

A look back at stories that caught people’s attention for how accurate they were before the fact

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk
6 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Sacramento Kings story

I wrote this one back in Jameson Steward’s “Letters From a Sports Fan” back in mid-February. It basically predicted that even with the moves made at the trade deadline, the Kings making the playoffs and breaking the longest current playoff drought would still be very unlikely and I was right.

Mexican Pizza story

This prediction even freaked me out. Back in early March, I wrote in my publication, The Random Nerdiness Collective, that the Mexican Pizza would likely come back on May 19th based on a hunch and a very cryptic message on the app around that time suggesting that something saucy was coming or something to that effect on May 19th. This story was both praise for a fan favorite and also an indictment of the company for thinking it was a good idea to ever take it away. The Mexican Pizza will be back in restaurants on Thursday.

Self-fulfilling prophecy story

There was a time back in late March when a few of my favorite writers had started freaking out about the way publications were changing. I was essentially telling them to calm down in a story I had written in Dr Mehmet Yildiz’s publication, Illumination. I had a hunch that there was nothing to worry about and that the glitch would be fixed within the week or around that time. It did end up being much ado about nothing, and I wrote this story in the middle of all of the mayhem and chaos being manufactured at the time trying to get people to calm down.

Lakers missing the playoffs story

I mean this was a pretty bold prediction at the time. The Lakers were essentially tied with the Spurs for the last play-in spot vying for the playoffs with a couple of weeks left and no reason to believe that they’d necessarily miss the postseason. I wrote this one on April 1 in “Letters from a Sports Fan” and was essentially proven correctly less than two weeks later when they officially became mathematically eliminated from achieving the 10th spot. This one is kind of funny too so you can check it out here if you want a laugh.

Toronto Blue Jays being postseason bound story

Okay, so this hasn’t happened yet but they certainly did start the season off hot and were ahead of the current first-place Yankees for a while. I wrote this one on April 8 in “Letters from a Sports Fan”. They would still be the sixth playoff team in the expanded postseason this year and even with the recent George Springer injury look like a dangerous team for 2022. My prediction will come true so I’m doubling down on this bet and you can read the story here.

Elon Musk-Twitter story

I was hesitant to write about the man. I can’t really stand looking at his face, let alone speculate as to why he’d buy a media empire. On April 18th in “The Random Nerdiness Collective,” I stated that he isn’t buying Twitter to protect free speech as he was asserting. Even though his true intentions haven’t been revealed yet and now with the extra complications around his recent purchase coming up, time will tell and show that Elon Musk was either just trying to get attention or he had insidious plans from the start for the platform.

Boston Celtics story

On April 26, I wrote in “Letters from a Sports Fan” after the Celtics swept the Nets that they were going to be a tough out in the postseason. Sure, this in itself, wasn’t the prediction as they had already done it but they still had a series ahead to face the Milwaukee Bucks. I thought that they had a real chance of knocking the Bucks out and I had written a story about how tough the team is. I even have an extra Heat-Celtics prediction for the Eastern Conference Finals in there that just came true, so double score for this story.

Grayson Allen-Bucks story

On May 2, I wrote a story in Gaurav Jain and KiKi Walter’s Suite 1984 publication for sports, The Press Box. The story was about the impact that Grayson Allen would have in the upcoming series and how his play would put the Bucks over the top or sink them in the series. Grayson Allen was awful in the series and in turn, the Bucks lost, albeit in seven games. This one is also related to the story before it on this list so I got another thing right in this series with another story.

The Sixers story

This last story on the list is one I wrote for “The Press Box” back on May 5. I predicted that with the Sixers down already 2–0 to the Miami Heat, they’d have no way to come back in the series and would lose in four or five games without Embiid. Embiid came back the very next game from the injury that kept him out of the first two games of the series and did end up getting the series back to a tie before they fell in six games, even with him in the lineup. This story got disrespected as it was the lowest viewed one out of all of them but I was still right. The Sixers had no chance. Less without Embiid but there’s even a part that said that their shot with him wasn’t that great either. This story has been disrespected. Read it below.

So after compiling this list, I noticed that six out of nine of these stories were about sports. I could’ve even included the Devin Booker story in here because I technically said that Devin Booker being injured would make them sink against the Pelicans. They did end up overtaking New Orleans but he returned earlier than I expected him to in that series and therefore was still a large reason why they won.

The point is, I’m a top sportswriter, and sure I know I’m not psychic, but I sure know what I’m talking about when it comes to sports, especially the NBA, so the next time I put a prediction out there, I want you to pay attention and see how accurate it turns out to be. You’ve already got some proof right here to show you how on point I’ve been.

I’ll be tagging top fellow sports and NBA writers here to give them a shoutout for their great work alongside me here on Medium. Keyshawn Shaahid, Michael L Butler, Zatara, Larrylambert, David McCalley, Jordan Pagkalinawan, brian g gilmore (bumpyjonas), Joe Beasley, Andrew Martin, Chris Wojcik, Brian Dickens Barrabee, Scot Butwell, Sportium_Official, Anne Bonfert, Dark Matter Articles, TUN, Michael M-C, PolySports, Shirtum, Bit Astir, Ginger Cook, Ning Choi, Michael Perreault, Scott Younkin, Sally Prag, Sreese, Samantha L. Sayre, and Christopher Robin.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.