QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

A Book Publishing Dilemma

Jill Ebstein’s search for a book publisher

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readJul 29, 2022

--

Photo credit: Jill Ebstein with her self-published book.

You might run into Jill Ebstein’s problem one day.

You complete writing a book and now you have to find the right book publisher or figure out how to go about self-publishing your book.

Hopefully, you have started building an audience on social media while writing the book to help position it in the world, so this doesn’t happen:

If a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

So, yeah, there is a lot that goes into writing a book and I hope this interview with Jill clarifies some of the challenges.

Scot: Tell me about your publishing dilemma…

Jill: I’ve spent the last year plus writing a series. I love the main character and other readers have too. I thought it could go to a mainstream publisher. It’s an easy read packed with wisdom. I have previous experience self-publishing, but I would prefer to shoot higher (by higher I mean more scale and distribution).

Scot: Who do you think is the target audience for your book?

Jill: It addresses a lot of social…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.