QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

A Bostonian Finds Inspiration at an Appalachian Writer’s Retreat

An interview with MarkfromBoston 🌻Ukraine

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readSep 30, 2022

--

Photo credit: Mark Censky.

I am eating El Pollo Loco chicken, mac and cheese, and a churro for dessert while interviewing MarkfromBoston 🌻Ukraine, and he is telling me about bluegrass music and whiskey at a writer’s retreat in the South.

This is what happens when you develop cabin fever in your home office and begin scouring the internet for a writer’s retreat, and you hit paydirt.

You find a writer’s retreat, music, a city, and a tribe of people that fill up your soul. This is Mark’s story — slightly edited for length considerations.

Anything specific that motivated you to attend a writer’s retreat? Or were you in need of stepping away from the everyday chaos of your life?

Yes. I was in need of an In Real Life experience away from Boston. I’ve been feeling cabin fever from working in my home office the past few years and considering moving to a warmer climate and North Carolina fit the bill.

How come I didn’t get the invite to be your roomie?

Next time you will! Lots of good music and whiskey in those hills….

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.