QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

The Accidental Memoirist

An interview with Stuart Grant

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readJan 20, 2023

--

Photo credit Stuart Grant. Made with Canva.

You post a few stories on Medium.

Your share them with a friend.

He tells you he wants to introduce you to an acquaintance who is looking for someone to be a ghost writer and tell their life story.

You meet for breakfast.

This man trusts you to be the one to tell his life story and you begin to meet together to turn the events from his life into a memoir.

This is Stuart’s story, and it’s why he says to be mindful of the quality of your Medium posts.

They may land you your best freelance work.

****

Before you started writing on Medium, did you have a desire to write a memoir or be a ghost writer and help someone tell their story?

Memoir was not a writing genre I deliberately pursued. However, I have read many biographies and memoirs. Some were expertly written and researched and others were absolute trash.

In a perverse way, the most poorly written memoirs were the ones that made me think I could do it. I couldn’t believe that people got paid for writing so badly, but the proof was right there in hardcover.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.