QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

A Peek Inside The Brilliant Mind Of David Perlmutter

An interview with David Perlmutter

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readMar 17, 2023

--

Photo credit: David Perlmutter

A lot has been written about David Perlmutter.

Some writers complained he highlights too much of their stories and others defended him.

That was a while back if you’re new to Medium.

Many writers have wondered how he manages to highlight so many stories by other writers.

But there is another side to David.

So take a break for a few minutes and step inside David’s asperger’s, animation, science fiction, speculative fiction, and horror writing mind.

You’ll find it’s a beautiful place.

What’s a typical day like for you in Winnipeg?

Mostly I’m at home reading, writing, and looking for work. I have a master’s degree in History and a certification as a Library Technician, but these haven’t done much for me in terms of getting a job.

I think I suffer from the stereotypes associated with autistic people, which sometimes falsely assume we’re mentally inferior people who can’t or won’t work. Which I believe is dumb.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.