A Spotlight on One of My Favorite Writers and a Fellow Editor — Adrienne Beaumont

Her honesty and her approach make her writing a delight to read

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk
5 min readMay 27, 2022

--

Both photos were provided to the author by Adrienne Beaumont and used with permission, left picture is Adrienne with two of her daughters (Stacey, left, and Keeley, right), and the photo on the right was taken by Keeley of Adrienne and used with permission, the photo was taken at St Goar on the Rhine River

What is there to say about one of my favorite writers, a fellow editor at Globetrotters, and a fellow top travel writer, Adrienne Beaumont? Adrienne is such an amazing and honest person. She’s got a lot of interesting life and travel stories to tell and she’s a great editor and I consider her a great writing friend. Also, she writes and edits a short form publication that I’ve absolutely fallen in love with, The Daily Cuppa.

She is a grandmother to a 10-month-old and a mother to three sons and three daughters, including Keeley Schroder, who is a writer outside of Medium as well and also the mother of her only grandchild. Writing definitely seems to run in the family. Her children are also a feature in many of her travel stories as well as they often accompany her on her trips.

From the moment I found her and started reading her stories, I was hooked. I included a list of 10 stories I absolutely enjoyed. I didn’t want to make a list this time. This isn’t a top 10 by any stretch of the imagination. She’s written so many stories that I’d have to spend even longer combing through and finding my absolute favorites.

These are just 10 I’ve already caught a glimpse of and have had the chance to engage with and read and they’re all very fascinating in their own right. Here’s a quick synopsis and a “non-list” list of the stories I wanted to share with all of you.

The original North Korea story. This one got a lot of attention at first and even I had to do a double-take in the comments at first but this article explains very specifically why this was her favorite trip of all time. She was definitely not afraid to go there with this story.

This story is one of my favorites because I’ve always wanted to be on a trivia game show and she actually got to do it. This was such a cool story to connect to. I think that if I ever make it out to Brisbane, Australia, that there is definitely a trivia night in the future.

A story about yet another car accident. I won’t give too much away here but this one was interesting to read because I don’t know how many people would honestly admit that they’ve been in that many car accidents. I mean, I would, but this story is about Adrienne, and the honesty is the draw.

Okay, so is it cheating if one of the stories is in one of my owned publications? I enjoyed this one so much because I have a similar mindset, though. I love how she can “brag” about getting amazing deals on things. That’s totally something I do as well. Read this one here if you like saving money and want a new travel term.

Again, I don’t want to give too much away here because the payoff when you’re done reading this one is so rewarding but let’s just say that the birthday has a lot to do with why her life really did start at 50. That’s all I’m giving you. You’ve got to read this one.

Ooh, a fellow Green Party voter, writing about what keeps her voting Green. The Green Party of Australia and the Green Party of the USA are pretty similar, I’m sure. I enjoyed this one and yeah, I urged her to put this one of my publications. This one is in the Random Nerdiness Collective. This one is also a must-read.

This story explains how she’s able to save on flying. A lot of the ways listed here are very helpful to know for frequent air travelers. I haven’t flown since 1993 but these are all very useful to me for future reference. Either way, I definitely enjoyed reading this one.

This story is in the Shining the Light series that another top fellow travel writer, Linda Ng, started. Adrienne’s story is here. I’m not going to give much of a synopsis here. I expect people to read this one.

Do you like journal-style entries? Adrienne has written quite a bit of her travel stories in this way. On this particular trip to Europe through Asia, she gives us a detailed journal tour of her trip. It’s long but definitely a must-read for those more frequent travelers.

Do I really have to explain why I included her about me? It gave me and will provide you with a chance to learn more about her. Yeah, I’m not spoiling an About Me. Go ahead, read it. You’ll enjoy it, too.

Now that I’ve shared with you many of the stories that I’ve enjoyed myself since I’ve discovered her, I’m sure you’ll also enjoy her writing as well. She’s an amazing person and has an adventurous life that I can never wait to continue reading about her daily. Good thing she publishes daily and sometimes multiple times so I can catch up when I’m busy myself. I hope you’ve all enjoyed this as much as I’ve enjoyed sharing this. Thanks for reading.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.