Chicago Has The Best Pizza That I’ve Ever Tasted

There are a few restaurants there that are superb but one for me takes the top prize

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk
3 min readJul 13, 2022

--

Photo by Manvi Mathur on Unsplash

Cheese and the combination of it on pizza; Chicago does it best

I recently wrote an article about my favorite food, cheese. What I didn’t mention is that pizza is probably my favorite combination of food that mixes cheese well with other ingredients to give a nice balance. I’ve tried so many different types of pizza in the course of my lifetime. I would almost call myself a pizza connoisseur.

There is one city though that does pizza perfectly. I don’t want any New Yorkers to get mad at me for this one, but Chicago has the best pizza, hands down. I mean why would you want to eat a slice of pie that you have to fold just to get a piece big enough into your mouth? I love the pie and lasagna-like style and texture of a deep-dish Chicago pizza pie.

I don’t think that any restaurant not based in Chicago is allowed the recipe

There are so many restaurants all over the country and the world that try to replicate this flavor. Sadly, they fall short. I’ve had the Chicago-style pie in Erie and in Sacramento and I have to admit that they’re good but not great. Chicago has really captured a unique flavor that doesn’t seem to be replicable anywhere else. It must be the ratio and the depth of the ingredients that do it for me.

This must be some sort of deeply-held secret among the residents of the city. “This recipe must never escape the clutches of any Chicago resident in any other city in America, much less the world.”

Oddly enough, I think it’s probably the one thing that I miss most about moving away. You can’t think of Chicago without thinking about its food, particularly its most famous classic. A few of the places that I checked out and loved while I was there were Giordano’s and Lou Malnati’s.

Lou Malnati’s is tops in flavor and so big you might need to eat it with a fork and knife

The two of them are pretty close for me in terms of taste. I would give a slight edge to Lou Malnati’s though. There’s nothing that can match the taste of the Big Lou and all of that delicious sausage just piled onto the pie. How could you not love every friggin’ bite that you take of this glorious pie?

It’s so big that you have to eat many parts of your pizza with a fork and knife. I actually have a big enough mouth that if I let the pie cool enough, I can just eat it with my hands. This is the preferred method and the one that’ll get every Chicagoan's respect if you execute it perfectly.

Finding one near you in Chicago and having the convenience now of having it shipped so everyone in America can enjoy

There was a location just down the street from my old house in the Lincoln Square neighborhood of town and was about 15–20 minutes by foot or even shorter if you could catch the bus just right. The restaurant is a chain so there’s no doubt that if you live in the city of Chicago, you’ll almost certainly find a Lou Malnati’s near you on every corner.

In fact, looking this up and linking to the website below, there are now 77 locations spread across four states, including seven in now far away Arizona according to their website. They’ll also ship it anywhere in the United States.

In fact, now I’ll have to walk back my statement about only being able to find it in Chicago. For just a little extra and to get the experience frozen, you can have the experience delivered to you anywhere in the United States.

I’d say that’s a cool experience to get to have if you’re someone who once lived in Chicago and moved away or want to try it for the first time. Although, in my experience, nothing beats the experience of getting it fresh and made to order and eat. Enjoy!!

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.