QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Confessions of An Unfocused Writer

An interview with Christopher Robin

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readMar 10, 2023

--

Photo credit Christopher Robin.

I’ve been binge-listening on my work commute to episodes of The Unfocused Writer podcast.

It is hosted by Chris and KiKi Walter, and for a focused writer, it has helped me to unfocus.

I mean this in a good way. I can be a serious guy who needs laughter and entertainment.

And Chris and Kristi deliver on the humor.

I’m questioning whether it’s good to be as focused as I am in my writing life and, maybe, being unfocused can be liberating for me.

Am I making any sense? I hope so.

I encourage you to check out their podcast and notice if it has a mind-altering effect.

What does it look like when an unfocused writer sits down to write a bitchin’ story?

I don’t know if I write “bitchin” stories, I just write stories. It’s not up to me to decide how they’ll be received by others. Kristi and I talked on the show with Preeti Ramachandran about tailoring our work to our audience, and I certainly don’t do that.

Now that I think about it, it’s entirely possible that I do the opposite. I may go out of my way to swim upstream. I may…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.