Dear Memory, Where Have You Gone?

Pat Romito LaPointe
QuickTalk
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2022
https://unsplash.com/photos/58Z17lnVS4U?

Dear Memory

Where have you gone?

Why do you take so long to tell me what day it is? Sometimes guessing doesn’t work and I desperately search for something, anything that shows the truth.

Why do you hide knowledge of important behaviors? Where are you when I’m holding my hands over my keyboard trying to remember a password I use every day or what words I had just intended to write?

Where are you when I start speaking but forget what it was I wanted to say?

Where are you when I’m searching for something I put in a safe place an hour or a day before?

Where are you when I can’t remember a conversation from a short time ago?

Where are you when I can’t remember the name of an object? I can only say “the thing….”

Where are you when a grandchild stands before me and for a moment, I can’t recall his name?

Where are you when I’ve just read something but forget it and must read it second or third time?

Why don’t you let me live in the “now”? There are times when you excite me with memories of long ago. It makes me smile but it is not a place I want to live forever.

Please Reply

--

--

Pat Romito LaPointe
QuickTalk

A lover of life stories, often finding humor in them. Refuse to take life too seriously. Appreciate out of the ordinary tales and those that inform.