QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Diagnosed with Autism at 60

An interview with Annie Trevaskis

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readFeb 24, 2023

--

Photo by Annie Trevaskis.

What if one thing could change everything you know about yourself?

And it’s always been a part of you.

It’s something that fits you perfectly.

But you just didn’t know about it.

This was Annie Trevaskis's story until she was diagnosed recently with autism at age 60.

What led you to be diagnosed at age 60?

It’s quite an interesting story. Got time?

There are two main factors that led me to seek a professional diagnosis in my sixth decade. I had lived in Cornwall for six years when I made my first real female friend. I absolutely adored her, but it all ended up going horribly wrong.

In retrospect, I believe the emotional depth of our friendship was because she, too, is autistic (although that is my take, and she has not, as far as I know, had a diagnosis). When it all fell apart, I started to remember all the problems I had with female friends in my past (this tends to be a problem area for females with autism).

The memories flooded back, often in dreams, and I was in a really low state for quite some time, trying to make sense of it…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.