QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Don’t Mess With This Cat Mom

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
7 min readOct 14, 2022

--

Deborah Camp isn’t silent on animal abuse

Photo credit: Deborah Camp with Bella and Bernie.

I’ve been reading Deborah Camp’s stories about Buddy, her indoor-outdoor cat, who was shot in the leg by an asshole neighbor with a BB gun.

The word asshole is Deborah’s word, but I have to agree with her — anyone who shoots a cat should be called an animal-abusing asshole.

Asshole fits, right?

Deborah stood up to the abuser in her latest Buddy story, “Today I Confronted the Guy Who Shot Our Cat,” in an intense confrontation.

This Cat Mom isn’t silent on animal abuse.

Tell me about the confrontation …

My husband Michael ran into the house yelling upstairs for me to call the animal cops because he saw the neighbor who we’re 99.9 percent sure shot Buddy beating his two dogs in his backyard.

I grabbed my phone and tore down the stairs to get the story straight before making the call and began shooting a video since we had no witnesses or proof when I called the cops about him shooting Buddy.

When the guy realized I was shooting a video, every other word was mofo this and mofo that and that we better mind our own GD business or else.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.