QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Everyday Struggles of Being A Mom To Three Humans And Two Dogs

An interview with Susan Wheelock

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

I love Susan Wheelock’s stories.

I’m sure you do too.

There is usually a conflict. Maybe, something involving her three nearly grown kids and two dogs or the shenanigans of a crazy neighbor.

Losing a tooth and crying in front of her son.

Searching the Medium search bar for help in parenting her kids, dealing with her hoarding husband, holding an umbrella for her dogs to do their business in the rain, or enduring the everyday challenges of being an older mom.

Her writing is honest and like talking to a friend over coffee, and I always see a bit of myself in her stories and laugh at something.

And that’s why I love reading Susan’s stories.

****

Which is easier being the mom to three almost-grown humans or the mom to two dogs?

The dogs, definitely. They don’t often ask for much (except treats) and they give lots of love in return. Not that I don’t love my humans, but they take up a lot of mental bandwidth and a lot of head space!

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.