QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Feliz Navidad From Natalie in Mexico

An interview with the effervescent Natalie

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readDec 23, 2022

--

Photo credit: Natalie with her family.

Holiday greetings from tu amiga Natalie and her familia in Monterrey, Mexico.

Próspero año nuevo felicidad (a happy and prosperous New Year!)

What? Is Christmas really two days away?

I assume you’re taking a break from watching Christmas movies, baking cookies, or whatever traditions you do with your family.

Me? I’ve been eating cookies and doing a few loads of laundry. Some things don’t change.

As I’m sure you know, Natalie is an ex-pat from the United States who grew up in Venezuela and has lived in Mexico for the past two years.

So I hope this interview will provide a cross-cultural perspective of Christmas as you sip on this eggnog or that hot chocolate in your home.

And it lets you get to know Natalie better.

Tell me about Christmas in Venezuela.

Ah, Christmas in Venezuela is a relic of the past and, perhaps, certain aspects of it still exist today. I hope it still has the vibrant energy and celebration of the 70s and 80s, but the truth is, most people cannot afford such lavish parties as I remember

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.