QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Finding Stillness and Strength Through Practicing Mindfulness

An interview with Claire Roberts

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readNov 4, 2022

--

Photo credit: Claire Roberts.

Had one of those rough days?

Your head throbs at the end of the day and it takes several hours just to feel normal again.

Exhausted and worn out, maybe wondering how to get off the hamster wheel of your life.

Claire Roberts has had those days, and as a meditation teacher, she has discovered how to find stillness and strength residing in herself.

This is Claire’s story about how she found it.

Your website says you spent years on autopilot, exhausted, run-down, and feeling trapped by the never-ending to-do lists. Is this what led you to start practicing yoga and mindfulness?

I stumbled across yoga classes and dabbled with meditation in my 20s, but it was just a hobby at that point of my life— it was as if my soul knew that it needed to plant the seeds of stillness that I’d be needing a decade later.

It wasn’t the daily treadmill that first led me to teacher training (I was still in denial about how exhausted and broken I was at that point). It was the loss of a baby from a late miscarriage in 2013, followed by surgery, and then

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.