QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Her Fifteen-Year Journey To Find a Literary Agent and Book Publisher

An interview with author Aly Brown

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readJan 13, 2023

--

Photo credit: Ally Brown.

Are you looking to find a literary agent?

Got an idea for a non-fiction book?

Or writing a memoir? A novel?

It took Aly ten years to find a literary agent.

Another five to sign her first book contract.

She felt like giving up but persevered.

And we can all learn from her experience.

I bet it must’ve felt pretty damn good to sign a publishing contract after all those 15 years.

Yes, indeed! I began querying agents in 2005 and didn’t sign with Moe Ferrara of BookEnds until 2015. We’ve gone on “sub” (submitting a book to an editor of a book publisher) with multiple books. We went through a lot of revising and crying in between books— but she never gave up on me.

I became the editor of a newsroom during that period, I became the editor of a newsroom, and that helped to sell me as a nonfiction writer, even though we had started the process with fiction.

We finally inked a contract with Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan) in 2020 for the nonfiction

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.