QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

“Hey, Pops, Your Grandson Is Cute” Might Piss Off This Autism Dad

Parenting a child on the spectrum

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readAug 19, 2022

--

Photo credit: Frank Priegue on Medium.

You’ve probably come across Frank Priegue. He’s that dad in the grocery store aisle sometimes trying to keep it together during a difficult moment.

You may have seen dads like him in your life and not realized what is going on, but that moment represents only one tiny moment in time.

You’re seeing like .001 of that child’s life.

I’m an Autism Dad and would like to introduce you to Frank’s and my world that may be different than your experience as a parent, but we have a lot in common. Kids are kids.

Scot: One dad said receiving an autism diagnosis for his son was like getting whacked over the head with a baseball bat. What was it like for you?

Frank: It was like getting kicked in the stomach. We were in the car while my wife read the report out loud. When she finished reading it, we sat there in silence with our mouths open. You have to understand, we’re both very chatty people. But we were just stunned.

Initially, we each blamed ourselves as if autism were somebody’s fault, but those kinds of negative thoughts aren’t productive and we realized…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.