I’m Wearing My CPAP Mask Today While I’m Writing and Waiting

I was feeling really off today and I didn’t know what else to do

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk
3 min readMay 26, 2022

--

Photo by Mockup Graphics on Unsplash

The replacement CPAP mask I got a while ago has been used again every night. I miss a couple of nights at times when I’m just so tired that I pass out. Last night was one of those nights. I feel like I can make up for it during the day since I’m not feeling that great today for a number of reasons.

Waiting for medication while the doctor was figuring it out

One of those reasons is most likely that it took days for my doctor’s office to resubmit all of my medications to the correct pharmacy location. Another thing is that one of those medications that I’m missing out on right now is Metformin, my diabetes medication, that I just ran out of late last week.

I was able to get a three-day supply over the weekend but I haven’t had a dose since Monday figuring that my doctor would get the prescriptions sorted out before then or on that day.

Finding a ride into town and waiting for a bit until I feel better

Now, I have plans to figure out a way to get into town so I can grab my medication for tonight and beyond. Even though our truck runs, we don’t really need to be running far off the highway and into town at the moment.

I’m going to have to find a ride or grab an Uber or Lyft. For now, I’m just going to bide my time and write while I’m using my CPAP mask for a couple of hours to see if that’ll help me.

It doesn’t sound like it makes much sense especially since I’m without my blood-sugar-regulating medication, but I have little to no energy to get moving until I can feel at least halfway decent.

Sitting here waiting until I can catch my bearings again

Before I was wearing my mask, I was feeling all sorts of horrible. Now, I’m able to at least sit up for a bit and write. Plus, it can never hurt to have help breathing right now until I can feel well enough to figure out my next move to get about 3–4 miles to get into town. I feel like I’ll probably be ready to move in about an hour or so.

To further complicate matters, my head is also fairly foggy and it is very warm outside right now so I’d be scared to go out on my own. I would want my partner to go with me on any ride I get into town. Luckily, we have air conditioning in our space so right now, I just need to relax and cool down and get some air and energy in me before I try to do anything else.

Writing will help me pass the time and I should be okay

Writing is probably the most intensive thing that I should be doing at the moment. Please don’t worry about me right now. I suspect I’ll be fine. I just wanted to be able to let everyone know how things are going at the moment.

Hopefully, wearing my mask and then getting my Metformin and other medications will help me feel much better. I’ve honestly been lagging behind my normal pace of writing in the last few days and I have so many stories to tell. Stay tuned.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.