AMPLIFYING LGBTQI+ VOICES

June is LGBTQI+ Pride Month

And I’m getting super excited to be unapologetically gay this month in my writing

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

--

Photo by Ian Taylor on Unsplash

June is officially Pride Month for the community. Here’s the official proclamation from the office of the President of the United States.

Even though I’ve never been a huge fan of all of the fanfare at the parades and the afterparties, I’m definitely for celebrating. I’m looking forward to writing more stories about my own gay experiences and also writing about other communities under the umbrella.

As people in the LGBTQI+ community come under attack more than in years by the Republican Party and social conservatives in the United States, I feel like I have to amplify my own voice and the voices of my writing peers in the community.

I will be unapologetically gay and I’m always fabulous, which really doesn’t even need to be said. I will be writing a lot of stories about the community and about my own gay experiences this month.

These stories will appear across many of the publications that I write in but I’m looking to get more stories into Prism & Pen again this month. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve last published there and I definitely have been trying to figure out what to send in next.

If you’re in the community and you do plan on attending pride parades and celebrating within the community for Pride Month, I’ll find your stories and I’ll start finding time to highlight a writer in the community at least once a week in the month of June.

When I say that I want to lean into the month celebrating our community, I mean that I’m going to do just that. Much love, peace, and happiness to all of my writing peers in the community and also to all of the wonderful allies as well. I can’t wait to share my excitement through my writing.

Stay tuned for more stories as we start the month and throughout the month of June.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.