QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Married to Lu Skerdoo For Almost 50 Years

An interview with James Scannell

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Photo credit: Lu Skerdoo and James at their wedding.

When James and Lu Skerdoo (her pen name) got married in 1975, she was 18 and he was 24, and you could buy a gallon of gas for 44 cents.

A quart of milk cost $.46. A loaf of bread $.33.

The average monthly rent was only $200, and popular musicians included Elton John, Earth Wind and Fire, The Bee Gees, and Chicago.

The Vietnam War had just ended.

A lot has changed since then, but one thing has remained constant: James and Lu Anne’s love.

Here is their story:

What’s it like being married for 48 years?

It seems like 48 years. All kidding aside, it feels like it has always been this way. As though we have always been together. It seems “Normal.” It seems like this is how it is meant to be.

I can still remember how I met my wife. How did you and Lu meet, and was it love at first sight?

Lu and I both worked for an Aerospace Forging company. It was a large plant with over 500 employees. She was a sales secretary and worked in the…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.