PAIN AND HEALTH

My Big Toenail Is In Intense Pain and It Feels Like It Might Fall Off

It started bleeding last night and feels a little loose

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

--

Photo by Min An: https://www.pexels.com/photo/close-up-photography-of-hands-and-feet-1076584/

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional. I’m just sharing a story about intense pain in a place I usually wouldn’t expect it.

My feet are always giving me trouble

I usually have some sort of problem with my feet. I have a bone spur in each respectively. They are bigger feet but are fairly flat with none to little arch in them to support my large frame. It always seems that I’m dealing with something.

Well, this time, I noticed it intensely last night as we were about to go to sleep. My big toe on my right foot had started to throb. It hurt enough that my partner’s normal cuddling of my feet with his started to feel massively uncomfortable. I screamed and writhed in pain as I pled with Mike to take his big tree trunk legs off of me.

The pain was sharp and intense and I noticed blood

I had felt a very noticeable and painful throb in my toe. I didn’t know what was going on but as I looked down at it, I noticed that blood was trickling out of the top of my toenail seemingly from underneath. It’s very possible that the buildup of my newer boots feeling very tight on my toes especially with the steel toes rubbing against them combined with the tighter feel I’ve felt with these boots in general since I got them loosened my toenail enough to where it wants to just disconnect from the rest of my toe.

I feel the toenail wanted to dislodge. I only started noticing this as I was feeling for where the toenail could possibly be bleeding from. At the time that I noticed the pain, I was barefoot. I figured that I couldn’t sleep barefoot in fear that I would accidentally toss and turn to the point where I’d accidentally knock my toenail off in my sleep.

I’ve had it to where it’s been this bad before. What I did last time this happened to one of my toenails is that I put a large bandaid around the entirety of the nail to keep it on and prevent it from falling off of my toe.

I have a bandaid, literally, for this problem

This time, I’ve considered doing that again. Although, I do have compression sleeves meant for my knees, ankles, and feet, and I could probably use those to keep them in place as well. I just need to make sure that for the next few days, I keep the area enclosed.

Just putting my socks on helped me greatly and will be enough until I can either bandage and clean the area or use a compression sleeve on it. I haven’t decided which one will preserve my toenail for longer. I know I’ll probably have to get it removed but I’m too much of a baby and a chicken to just rip off the nail at this point.

I mean, I’ve done it before but my toe bled for a little too long for my liking last time. I think that my first couple of plans will be the best course of action at this point and I’ll just try to manage the pain by being careful with my feet for now. I have trimmed that toenail down a little bit more in the hopes that it won’t continue to butt up against the steel toe. We will wait and see how that goes.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.