Debunking Extrovert Stereotypes

Not All of Us Extroverts Are Rude, Shallow, and Dumb

It’s time to clear away the stereotypes about extroverts

Sieran Lane
QuickTalk
Published in
5 min readAug 20, 2022

--

A serious-looking cat stands next to a cheerful-looking pomeranian puppy.
Photo by FotoJagodka on DepositPhotos. Author has standard license to use photo for commercial purposes.

So many stereotypes exist about extroverts and introverts.

Not all extroverts like loud music, drinking alcohol, dancing with countless strangers, or making small talk for hours. Just as not all introverts enjoy reading books or being alone for long periods of time.

I’m not making that last one up, by the way. I do know some people who describe themselves as introverts yet hate reading books and dread being alone.

My mother is one of them. She hates being alone and is essentially a social butterfly. And she detests books. Socializing does drain her, though, and she needs to think before she speaks. So she complains that her extrovert friends talk too fast for her to keep up with.

Extroverts tend to think out loud rather than figuring out what they want to say first. That’s me. I often start speaking even when my thoughts are still half-formed. Somehow, like magic, this half-formed thought will turn into some coherent, even deeper argument by the time I’ve finished my speech.

Extroverts Who Break the Stereotypes

--

--

Sieran Lane
QuickTalk

A queer trans writer and therapist. I help fiction writers complete their novels. Let's connect! https://the-transgender-therapist.ck.page/fiction-writing