QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Reclaiming Herself and Voice After The End of Her 25-Year Marriage

An interview with Lisa S. Gerard

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readNov 25, 2022

--

Photo credit: Lisa S. Gerard.

A good title is like a whiff of perfume.

It has to attract. Be inviting. Irresistible.

Lisa S. Gerard roped me and many readers in with this title, “I Opened My Mouth, Betrayed My Brain, and Ruined 25 Years of Marriage.”

I wanted to know what she said, how she betrayed her brain, and how it ended her 25-year marriage.

Were there warning signs she missed?

A lesson for my wife and me in our marriage?

I think your story is so many other women’s stories who are divorced or remaining in a stagnant marriage, especially these lines from your story:

As long as I fell in line, didn’t make waves, and played the dutiful wife, everything was just fine. We had fun and some great experiences as a couple and as a family.

I blame myself for following those unwritten rules, though, year after year.

Through time, I lost my voice.

Funny how a behavioral pattern can become so habitual that you stop seeing it.

Until, one day, you recognize…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.