QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

She Got Rid of Her Crap and Moved To Italy With Her Cats As Companions

An interview with Terianne Falcone

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
8 min readNov 11, 2022

--

Photo credit: Terianne Falcone in Italy.

Having a lot of stuff brought her comfort.

Then she decided on a whim to move to Italy.

She had six months to put what she planned to keep in storage, sell, toss, or give away, and it took her to the last day to complete the task.

Down to the final minutes at the airport.

A South American Delta employee saved the day and a “stiff” item of a personal nature, wrapped up in a newspaper, wasn’t discarded.

Terianne was on her way to Rome.

I liked how your story, “I Moved To Italy With Two Suitcases and a Bag of Cats,” was mostly about your struggle to get rid of your crap. It sounded very cathartic …

Getting rid of stuff makes me wanna go all Aretha-like and sing, “FREEDOM! FREEDOM, FREEEEEEDOM!”

I had so much STUFF.

Trinkets, books, plants, books, old cards, trinkets, decorations, books, books, books. My house had become just a place for my stuff as George Carolin says in a stand-up comedy routine about our emotional attachment to our belongings.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.