QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Sniffing Out Crimes While Baking Vegan Cookies and Pastries

An interview with mystery writer G.P. Gottlieb

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readDec 30, 2022

--

Photo credit: G.P. Gottlieb (left) with husband David.

What would you do if the café closest to your home serves great almond croissants, but you usually order a baguette with butter and jam?

And they don’t have baguettes with jam.

Or the music is cranked up way too loud.

And you can’t even hear your friend talking.

Well, if you’re mystery writer G.P. Gottlieb, you create an imaginary café called The Whipped and Sipped café with Da Bomb vegan pastries.

And your café becomes the setting of a three-book mystery series with lots of cookies, clues, and yeah, a murder for readers to solve.

Photo credit: G.P. Gottlieb website.

Tell me about the Whipped and Sipped café.

Sure, it’s the kind of place I’d love to have in my neighborhood! It always swirls with delightful cinnamon and chocolate scents. It’s cozy and friendly. There is soft music playing and all the employees (except one) are attentive and sweet.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.