QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Struggling to Find Joy and Laughter Amid the Negative Clamor of Life

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
6 min readOct 7, 2022

--

An interview with Julie KingGood

Photo credit: Julie Kinggood.

A month ago, Julie KingGood wrote a story, “But Am I Even Happy?” about her struggle to find joy amid the negative clamor in her life.

She ended her story by asking readers to help keep her accountable for making her life to be filled with joy, laughter, and happiness — again.

So I’m here to ask Julie about her quest to find joy and laughter as a follow-up to her story and, yes, I’m holding her accountable for her joy.

Let’s see how she’s doing.

How have you done this month at finding joy and laughing more?

Yes and no. I have laughed a little more, but not enough. I am still struggling with being nice all the time when my husband is constantly negative. This will take more time to learn how to handle it.

I have seen improvement in being able to not react during these situations, but I haven’t belly-laughed very much yet.

Just for giggles, I will put crazy Snapchat filters on my husband as he walks by me. Then I send them to my daughter, and we will laugh about them.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.