QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Polyamorous in Portland

Can you take NYC out of kt lee?

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
6 min readJul 22, 2022

--

Photo by Mateo Giraud on Unsplash.

kt lee and her husband are in a rental car. They’re driving from New York City to Portland, Oregon, and a new life awaits.

Culture shock.

But first I want to hear about their cross-country trip, and then we’ll get into a few details about their polyamorous relationship.

Not sure what that word means … the Oxford dictionary puts it this way: involved in the practice of engaging in multiple romantic (and typically sexual) relationships, with the consent of all the people involved.

This story might challenge your thinking about love.

Scot: Best moment on your cross-country trip?

kt: We went to the museum (The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealy Plaza) that chronicles the assassination of JFK and then we visited the Southfork Ranch from the old TV show “Dallas”.

“Dallas” HAD been one of my favorite childhood shows. So we headed over there, and BAM! There we were! Southfork! Steeped in J.R. Ewing and the Ewing clan, walking from room to room, being driven around on a Southfork Ranch tour.

I kept thinking, “What a dichotomy! To have spent a day visiting America’s two big…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.