QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Talking to The Queen of Memoir

About her growing empire

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readJun 17, 2022

--

Photo credit: Kiki Walter on Medium.

Hey everyone. I finally got KiKi Walter to do an interview.

She runs six publications on Medium, so she is a busy woman. I’ve been tracking her down like an FBI agent, so thank you Kiki for this interview.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you know Kiki is the owner of a growing empire on Medium, including The Memoirist, The Narrative Collective, QuickTalk, The Mayhem, Song Stories, and The Suite 1984 Reading Club.

Kiki describes herself in her bio as a Pub Pirate, Queen Bee, The Memoir Queen, and the evil mastermind behind Suite 1984 Publishing & Therapy.

Also, the Snarky Megalomania. I think the Memoir Queen fits her best. So I’m going to start by asking Kiki about my favorite memoir story of hers.

Scot: I loved your story, “The Time I Ran Away Away to Join The Circus,” where you ditched spending time with your family over the holidays to drive to Chicago on Christmas Eve with a Jim Morrison doppelganger:

I stared up at him in awe.

Standing on the table, his wild mane of brown hair cascading around his shoulders, he threw his head back with a vanquisher’s flair embodying the ghost of…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.