QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Digital Nomad Gerald Sturgill

Dust off your summer reading glasses

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Photo credit: Gerald Sturgill with his partner Mike.

It’s July and hot everywhere.

I imagine readers drinking iced tea in the Midwest or lying on a beach in Southern California, and you want a summer story.

So I give you this chat with my friend Gerald Sturgill. He’s on the road this summer traveling with his partner Mike in their box truck tiny living home and got stories to tell.

Talking to Gerald reminded me of the 2020 Academy Award-winning film Nomadland with Frances McDormand, who won Best Actress.

So if you’ve ever got the urge to hit the road in a recreational vehicle, this year might not be the best because of the expensive gas prices.

However, if you plan to be a digital nomad in the future, there are road lessons Gerald can impart from his experiences as a road warrior.

Scot: Has becoming a digital nomad always been a dream of yours?

Gerald: No, I never imagined that I’d be doing this. It was my partner’s idea to do the whole tiny home, digital nomad thing. I wanted to stay put in some sort of rental. I’ve never been much for traveling, particularly on the road. But I’ve grown to love it, and we definitely needed to…

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.