The Power of Positive Ease

A poem about how sitting in silence can be beautiful.

Bernice R.
QuickTalk

--

Photo by Gary Barnes from Pexels

I love how I can sit with you
In silence
No words needed to stretch the empty space
Between us
Like a rubber band being pulled
Until it snaps.

How many times in my life
Has noise contributed to
Increasing tension
Flying words of friction

How many times in my life
Has silence been hostile
Cold
Frigid
Armed to the teeth with aggression

But with you
There’s no pretending
No need to speak every word on our hearts

I can feel your warmth
In your embrace
Your little half smile
Your kind eyes

I can sit with you for hours
Without a single word ever being released
From our mouths
But your love for me radiates
From every fibre of your being.

--

--

Bernice R.
QuickTalk

Personal essays, pop culture, and punning. Subscribe to my newsletter for a dose of all three in your inbox: https://bernicespieces.eo.page/newsletter