QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Ever Want To Write a Book? This Mother and Son Help Indie Authors

Meet Lynne Collier and Benjamin T. Collier

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readDec 16, 2022

--

Photo credit: Lynne Collier with son Ben.

I see you, Medium writer.

You want to write a novel but don’t know where to start. You’re sitting in your car with a leg on the dashboard and laptop in your lap.

Coffee. Free wifi at McDonald’s.

OK, that’s me at my writing spot.

But, hey, if you desire to write a novel or a memoir, I want to introduce you to a mother and son, who love helping first-time authors.

We just met in the comments to one of my stories and found we have a lot in common — tell me a little bit about yourself as a writer.

Lynne: I write about my life at White Rose Shire, a little place in Southern Ontario. I enjoy writing poetry and short fiction and participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), and especially creating workbooks for writers.

I’ve taken part in NaNoWriMo since 2015. I spew between 50,000 and 60,000 words every November, completing an entire rough draft by month-end. It’s not pretty, but it’s a good base for revising later. I’ve published two books this way.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.