QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Writing Advice She Lives By

From Inspired Writer editor Kelly Eden

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
7 min readJun 10, 2022

--

Photo credit: Kelly Eden on Medium.

Kelly Eden lives on the edge of a beautiful rainforest in New Zealand and writes eloquent essays thinking about the possibility of her own death.

“But when my time is up, will I feel like I’ve done enough? It’s the question I ask myself often, but I’m starting to wonder if it’s even the right question.” — Kelly Eden

Those are the kind of thoughts Kelly often has from living with a chronic illness, but she also writes about tools you can add to your writing belt.

Just read one of these stories and you will think differently about writing:

  • “I Spent $660 on a Personal Essay Course. Here’s What I Learnt.”
  • “To Improve Your Stories, Work Out What You’re “Really” Saying.”
  • “To Improve Your Personal Essays: Use Objects Not Just Ideas.”

Don’t read them unless you’re serious about improving as a writer.

But if your heart is to write better personal essays and you care about the quality of your writing, Kelly Eden is a fountain of writing wisdom.

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.