QuickTalk Friday Interview Series

Writing a Memoir To Heal Trauma

An interview with Cindy Heath

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk
Published in
5 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Photo credit: Cindy Heath

Do you want to heal intergenerational trauma?

And end that Mama or Daddy Drama so many have embedded within us for decades?

Write a memoir.

That’s what Cindy Heath has discovered by writing a memoir for three years and taking a plunge into painful emotions from her past.

And learning from her memoir mentors.

Cindy says she has come out stronger, happier, and with a greater understanding of herself as she begins draft two of her memoir in progress.

What made you want to write a memoir?

I am close to my younger sister, and I was staying with her because she had a knee replacement, and one day she said to me, “You know, you should write my memoir.” She has led a fascinating life with even more challenges than I’ve had in my life.

I said, “First, I have to learn to write a memoir, and then maybe I’ll work on mine, and then maybe I’ll write yours. She said, “You should write our story of growing up on a homestead in Alaska.”

And initially, that’s what I was going to do. I left Alaska at 17 and I was going to end my memoir when I was 20

--

--

Scot Butwell
QuickTalk

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.