You’ve Helped All of Us Find a Family

A birthday shoutout to the mother of the Suite 1984 block

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk
2 min readMay 21, 2022

--

Photo of KiKi Walter in the 1980s, used with permission. That’s a sweet car, right?

You’ve shared so much with us, Mama Ki, KiKi Walter. Even though we’ve never met you face-to-face in person since we live all over the world, we’ve gotten a chance to know you so well. You’re sincere in your writing and in our publication Slack work chat.

You’ve given us an opportunity to share our thoughts, ideas, most profound and darkest secrets, and fears. We get to share our sense of humor with you, too. We can laugh, cry, and be ourselves with you. We even had a complete day when the whole group just started sharing our traumas and we decided to rename the group channel, “Group Therapy.”

I thought that I was just getting another set of publications to help edit, but I gained so much more. Awesome fellow editors and just downright awesome people in general. You’re the glue that brings us together. Your warmth, your love, and your energy are what draw us together. We’re a family of misfit editors who found a way to be a fit with each other.

We all came from different subjects of speciality and vastly different backgrounds and somehow we all came to work together. I am one of the newer editors of the Suite 1984 family but you warmed up so quickly and made me feel like I’d been with all of you so long already.

You’ve already helped to give me a cool nickname to endear me with the rest of the group. You got a chance to meet my partner, Mike, in the group Zoom meeting already, and even he feels like a part of this bigger family. He doesn’t even write on the platform and he can tell how much you and the group have already positively impacted my life.

Your success is all of our success here. We are all committed to growing the Suite 1984 family and family of publications.

I really hope that you get the best birthday today. One that you deserve to show and give you all the love you give to others every single day. I can’t describe anymore in words how being a part of your brood has made me feel. The song I’ve selected for the end of this sums up how I’m sure most of us feel about you.

Special thanks to the editors at Suite 1984, and a shoutout to all on the birthday party/Zoom call today, and also those who couldn’t make it: Birthday women (KiKi Walter, and Anjali Joshi), Bernice Puzon, Sally Prag, Christopher Robin, Sofia Chen, Michael L Butler, Suzanne Pisano, Gaurav Jain, Preeti Ramachandran, Marketa Zvelebil, Ira Robinson, Scott Younkin, Drashti Shroff, Danielle Loewen, Christine Schoenwald, Tamil, Janet Meisel, and Susan McCorkindale.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
QuickTalk

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.