Hope is…

Aliya Mughal
Quiet Contemplations

--

a well-meaning wish or wishful thinking?

a hollow gesture or a bold non-move?

To hope is to accept our powerlessness, to relinquish control

to give ourselves up to something we’re not quite sure of.

It’s a turning away from uncertainty

a resignation to what we don’t know.

It’s giving up and giving in,

in desperation and despair

for change

through forces beyond our control.

It’s fingers crossed, head bowed

eyes to the sky, to the horizon

Blind Faith

when we have no words, no idea

no way of making sense.

An emotion that fills a hole

a word that fills a gap

vague, bloated and empty

It’s the diaphanous mist of drizzle

the blinding light of a sudden ray

the hint of a torrent

the anticipation of heat.

“I hope you’re well.”

“I hope you have a good day.”

“I hope things turn out okay.”

I surrender.

--

--

Aliya Mughal
Quiet Contemplations

Writer, essayist, professional of distraction. I write about the human condition, via philosophy, art, music, literature. Find me here: www.aliyamughal.co.uk