‘ His Lingering Perfume’ gets another nice review…

~ Sarah D ~
Quill and Ink
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Photo by Julio Lopez on Unsplash

I just wanted to mention that I recently took advantage of my Goodreads account and sent someone a free PDF version of my book. Her name is Rujuta Dessai, and she has some wonderful things to say about the book.

So the book has been on Amazon for the last 2 years, and it seems to be doing wonderful for a first-time author’s attempt at self-publishing. I also love writing on Medium, and someone advised me to make a Goodreads account since reading made me a better writer.

The book, which centres around the antics of a shy rich girl who has a secret lover is doing pretty good, considering everything. I feel like I could have done much more for this book than I have, but given everything, it seems moving slowly is a good thing. It is my first book, and I think moving slowly yet steadily, is better than trying to rush the process.

If there’s anything I enjoyed about writing this book, it’s just that using simple, crisp and clear language was my best bet. I wanted the protagonist to be someone most introverts-at-heart could relate to.

In her review, Rujuta says that she liked the part where “The characters are nameless, which makes the story even more relatable. I felt like I was right there with her, feeling everything she felt. Their secret love affair is intense but innocent, adding a fun twist with him sneaking into her room through a secret route.”

I wanted my reader to feel that as well. I based it a little on the story of the Bible where the divine being ‘God’ is referred to as Him. So in the Bible God is often personalised and called He, I wanted a Him and a Her…

As the story unfolded one discovered that they were who they were, the perfectly normal people who were at home with each other, minus the secret romance who had perfectly normal lives apart from each other and jobs too.

She also said in her heart-warming review “This book doesn’t have big drama or tension but keeps you hooked with its quiet, introspective vibe. Their love is pure and untainted, challenging conventions and celebrating introverted hearts.”

I wanted my readers to feel that as well. It’s something that is so very likened to “Its Complicated” style relationships where the only thing that draws two people together is mutual attraction. It is not important in this book, that they don’t end up tying the knot.

And so, I hope that I can share this Love Story that is my first-ever attempt at writing a fictional book! Entitled ‘His Lingering Perfume’ and based on childhood love, it is the best thing about the last two years!

--

--

~ Sarah D ~
Quill and Ink

| Read my Short Fiction Stories | I'm a published Author|