How Big Writers Capture Attention

10 Days Challenge- Day 1, Post 1

Manish Dangi
Quill and Ink
2 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Welcome to the 3 stories per day(for 10 days)Challenge…read this for 30 seconds to motivate me to write more & more.

Alright, in my experience as a writer, there’s definitely a group of masterful writers out there who seem to operate on another level.

Their writing always captivates me and leaves me wondering, “How do they do it?”

Well, I made it my mission to uncover their secrets, and let me tell you, what I discovered was pretty illuminating.

Um, basically these top-tier writers have a whole pre-writing process that sets them up for success.

They focus on stuff like objectives, research, outlining before they even put pen to paper.

This lays the strong foundation, you know, for their awesome narratives that resonate with readers.

So, I’m gonna walk you through the key elements I learned about their pre-pub process.

Hopefully, it helps any writers out there trying to up their game!

Pre-Writing Steps

Alright, before they start actually writing, masterful writers take some key pre-writing steps.

This stuff is crucial to create powerful content, but it’s stuff the reader never sees.

First, they get super clear on their goals, like what purpose they want the piece to serve.

Is it to entertain???

Educate???

Inspire action???

If you don’t define your objectives, ah, the writing can end up all over the place.🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Hmm, next they put in the work on research.

I’m taking extensive reading around the topic to build a solid base of examples, facts, and quotes to draw from.

You can’t create an insightful article without doing the legwork first!

It shows in the final product.

Now, outlining is big for these writers too. They structure each section, finesse the flow before drafting paragraphs.

It’s like having a roadmap so you don’t get lost while writing.

You know what else stood out to me?

They really empathize with their audience.

Like they try to embody the reader and her concerns when shaping the content.

Building that connection makes the piece so much more impactful.

And finally, they hone their narrative voice and writing style.

They approach articles like crafting a story, making conscious choices to keep readers glued from start to finish.

The result is this almost effortless and engaging article. Pretty masterful if you ask me!

Pre-writing gives masterful writers a solid blueprint.

It paved the way for me to understand their secrets and how they create such resonant content.

Hopefully, these steps can help other writers gain a bit more insight into the process!

--

--