Why Dubai a Safe City for Women?

Pinky Patel
Quill and Ink
Published in
3 min readSep 7, 2024

--

Photo by Ronny Sison on Unsplash

s a woman, safety became one of my major concerns after I became an adult. I had to put several layers of protection in place to guard myself against harassment.

Whenever I stepped out of my home, I had to be cautious about everything that surrounded me. It was always a burden, as I never felt safe anywhere.

When I came to Dubai, I expected the same struggles and thought it would be even more challenging since my husband would be my only form of protection.

I still remember the first day I took a bus with my husband. We both tried to sit in the front seats, but a woman gave my husband a disapproving stare, which made him uncomfortable. So, he moved to the back of the bus.

After that, we learned about the rule of priority seating here, which means that only women, children, and disabled people can sit in the front seats — about half of the total seats on the bus.

At first, I didn’t like it and felt it was unfair to men. Men can only sit in this area if there are empty seats and no women are standing. If the bus is crowded, you won’t even find a man standing there.

I understood how this rule helps after I started working here. It’s not just the priority seating area where you are safe; you are protected anywhere on the bus. No men come to harass you because the…

--

--