Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Bycatch

Irati 🔱🦉
QUING OF THYME
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2023

--

You run down your path
As I got wind of you.

You lean against a wall, gasping.
Oh, did you notice me, mi corazón?

You walk again, wearily.
Why did it become so hard for you to move, habibti?

You stop, exhausted.
I am already here, come sit with me, tesoro.

You lie down as I have joined you.
I am bound to you.

Mein Schatz, truth be told,
You are bound to me now.

I am the black fog surrounding you
For the rest of time, darling.
I am the lens and the looking glass
Crooked as you are.

I am the soot covering your face
that you cannot wash away.

I guard your heart, sunce moje,
No-one shall touch it without me.
Every plea and appeal will go through me
And I add my own weight
So you never forget about me.

Love, your mind works tirelessly
To push me away,
Your heart beats so hard and fast
For I am weighing you down.
You squint to see the sun
Yet I am everywhere.

You will pay thrice for every drop of joy
You sneak past me, mein Engel.
Four times for every smile
That I catch you beaming,
Tenfold for every moment
Of resting your mind.

You try to hide
I see you, hayati!
You try to change yourself.
I am already there,
Corrupting your new skin and eyes.

I am the soot covering your skin
that even your tears can’t wash away.

Grim are your memories,
Do you realise how long
I am with you already, cuore mio?
You will face the rest of your path
With me by your side,
With me all around.

Look into these eyes, srce,
that I do not have.

In the end I do
Not care for you. In
Fact I do not care
For Anything, this
is the way I am.

I am the soot in every wrinkle of your skin
that not even your blood can wash away.

Funny chance we met,
Just a small thing gone wrong,
unnoticed and lost in time.
Yet I will be with you
Until the end of time, mi cielo.

--

--

Irati 🔱🦉
QUING OF THYME

antifascist feminist thinking about (&) feeling many things // not “a man” // any pronouns but "he/him" // human // ʎ|y