Exploring the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions of Sleep Paralysis

And it is so terrifying

Miriam Rachel
Quirky And Fascinating Facts
5 min readJun 18, 2024

--

The Nightmare (c. 1781), by Henry Fuseli. Oil on canvas, 101.6 × 126.7 cm. Detroit Institute of Arts, Wikimedia.

I will never forget that time in 2008 when I somehow woke up (but could not move) in a 1960s setting with a woman with an old rotary phone in her hand (I did not exist in the 1960s).

Then, the next thing I knew, there was a dark and tall figure yelling at me in a demonic voice. I could not move.

It was terrifying, and the dark figure took his skinny hand and pushed me into the mattress. It was then and there that I woke up in a sweat.

I have had several incidents before that, but nothing so horrific, and a few after. However, I rarely get it now.

I will share why that is at the end. But I did some searching online to find out what happened to me by typing in “dark figure pushing me down after waking up and being unable to move,” and that is when I learned about sleep paralysis.

Let’s Begin to Chat About Sleep Paralysis

Sleep paralysis is a puzzling and often frightening experience that affects people as they transition between wakefulness and sleep.

Let’s explore the physical and spiritual aspects of sleep paralysis further, uncovering the scientific explanations behind its occurrence…

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Quirky And Fascinating Facts

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel