Nicky Mazur
Quit Keyframing Around
2 min readJan 18, 2017

--

I’m 2.5 years into the post-college-sphere, getting a taste of all the common adulthood tropes: taking my coffee black; spending 60% of my headspace thinking how much I should work out; and hyperventilating during tax season, at every bill I get, and when Whole Foods is out of coconut cashew butter.

The vision I had for my career path on graduation day shifted countless times over the past two years. Being challenged and pushed beyond my comfort zone boosted the sense of where my strengths and weaknesses lie and made me more curious to see what I’m made of.

Art direction, content creation, motion graphics, and video have been relentlessly (and charmingly) tugging on my sleeve. And as I’ve already been honing those skills at work over the past year — I’ve been craving the idea of taking it to the next level.

Lots of research (and nervous thoughts on balancing work and school) left me heart-eyed and drooling over an online motion design program. Three classes, 12 weeks each. I applied for their spring semester, did a few different versions of a happy dance when I received my acceptance e-mail, and… dot dot dot…begin in just a few days! Eep!

Our live orientation was last Friday, which was totally weird being referred to as a student again, and I’ve already had my first project assigned. Every week, there will be live lectures, class assignments, critiques, reading materials (of which my bank account is currently putting on hold), and a watch list.

Current attitude: Psyched to the max! Only fear at the moment is inadequate caffeination and a whole new level of eyestrain.

--

--

Nicky Mazur
Quit Keyframing Around

animation. illustration. stirred by its beauty, gripped in the technical and theory.