A 52-Year Journey to Transitioning: Part 2

Qunomedical
qunomedical
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2020

This is the second part of a two party story detailing the story of Jennifer’s transition from a man to a woman. You can read part one here.

Following this, the process of deciding whether she wanted to undergo surgery, and what to start with began.

Was the surgery the ultimate but extreme coping mechanism? or was it who I really was?

Rather than commit to a total deal, I decided to try an orchiectomy first. Remove the testosterone and part of the entity which I hated so much. I figured, if this goes well, then I can always continue, but if it doesn’t, I can continue as a man and take testosterone supplements (injections, topical gel, etc.). In other words,

Take it slow. Get your mind right, then change the body slowly. Leave room for doubt.

But here’s where the never ending cycle of bureaucratic formalities, the high costs of the surgery and general chaos in the US healthcare system came into play.

I had a problem finding a surgeon who would do the surgery without all the red tape. I had one letter from my counselor, but now I would have to find another, go through 6 more months to a year of telling the same old story.

I would have to spend the money that could be used for the surgery on counseling, go a year dressing the role full-time under their supervision - which I already done, only to be post postponed for monetary reasons. Only to be told again that the letter was old and would have to revisit the counselor and start that crap all over!

Not to mention that the cost in the US was about $20,000. It was a never ending circle.

Jennifer was lucky enough to find a board certified surgeon at home, who performed the first surgery on her.

He performed my orchiectomy [surgery to remove one or both testicals] with outstanding results, no complications or side effects, and it changed my life.

I understand now why starting the transition made sense to me. Where I was before, I didn’t know who I was or who I wanted to be and lived my life as one big lie each day pretending to be that which I could never be.

Now I wanted to do something for me in which I believed and which would make me happy and most of all proud. I wanted to be alive, to feel, to choose - to finally fit in

On realizing her worth,

I had self-respect and realized that I don’t have to prove myself to others. They must treat me with respect and dignity. My importance isn’t based on what they think of me, rather, what I know about myself.

Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

Jennifer wanted to continue her transition, but monetary issues and waiting time were holding her back. This is when she did some research online and found Qunomedical.

I read the reviews, and they gave me many alternatives, but they did more than that. They were there for every step of the process. They connected me with the doctor, helped me understand what was available, and helped me understand what the doctors had to offer and what they were driving at. They helped me select a doctor that probably saved my life.

The advantage I had with Qunomedical is that they had a history of the results with the doctors they use. I literally had no worries from the plane trip over, being picked up right away at the airport, being taken to and helped to be checked-in at the hotel, transportation to the doctor’s office and the hospital, nurse’s visits, transportation back to the airport, and even follow-up thereafter. The hotel recommended treated me like family and even checked-up on me.

It cost me half of what I would have paid in the US, and I got outstanding results.

Photo by Cristian Escobar on Unsplash

On taking charge,

I am now so happy. I love the way I look and feel. My mind is right, my body has adjusted to the hormones/lack thereof and now my body matches the real me. I am whole, confident and proud. I have self-respect and am more powerful now than I have ever been in my life.

I hope this, in some small way, helps someone. It is a tough road, but it can be made a lot easier with the right people. Mine was made easy by two great doctors, two great counselors and Qunomedical. Thanks for everything.

--

--

Qunomedical
qunomedical

Here to help you find the right doctor — anytime, anywhere. qunomedical.com