It’s Incredibly Satisfying Watching Carmelo Anthony Having Fun On A Good Team

Jared Dubin
Quo Vadimus
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017

Wrote about watching Carmelo Anthony play basketball for a basketball team that is not my favorite basketball team. An excerpt:

And folks, I’ve got to say, watching Melo when he’s not on your favorite team anymore is AMAZING. It’s so much fun. I’m now free to enjoy something that gave me so much angst over the last few years because the fan part of me that shouldn’t exist anymore due to covering the league for seven-plus years (but still does anyway because I’m a weak person) doesn’t really care about how it impacts the team on a larger scale. That team isn’t my favorite team, so I’m free to let Melo be Melo.

I don’t care how many times Melo jab-steps. I don’t care if he gets back on defense. I don’t care about his shot clock management. I don’t care that he settles for jumpers when he draws a slower defender. I don’t care if he closes out at all, let alone whether he does it with his hand straight up in the air like you’re supposed to. I don’t care if he takes more shots than Russell Westbrook or Paul George, even though they’re both better than him. I just care that, for a few minutes a night, he cooks the guy in front of him.

Read the full story at Dime.

--

--