The enigma of progression

Not so long ago, I was a core performer in our little team. Level 1. Being in the trenches, there is at times comfort in the simplicity of all the work involved. Having to know only up to what you can do, has a definitive advantage in some deep way.

With a progression of job level, precludes benefits which everyone wants. Having gone through one, I’m at the crossroads of paths where I will be leaving my so called “comfort zone”, which I have been comfortable with. It is endearingly, delightfully addling.

As the saying goes, it is not the destination but the journey. And the journey now is a blank sheet which is potentially can be complicated, long, and requiring tedious work. So having gone through the long awaited promotion, I can say it is really just the beginning. it still is hard work, learning your ways around it and managing expecatations.

I end this with part of the quote amusingly fit for this from JRR Tolkien:

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;

The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost”

--

--