Everybody’s Friend

Iain K. MacLeod
Quote Wall
Published in
1 min readNov 17, 2017

“You are thirty-five years old,” I said to myself. “More than half of your life has already been spent. Who is living your life, anyway? Is it actually yours? Or is it a kind of public storehouse of odd jobs? A pile of days and hours put on the counter of the world with a sign inviting every Tom, Dick, and Harry to take one?”

It was in that solemn morning hour, as I have said, that I formally retired from the business of being Everybody’s Friend. For weeks I had to school myself in the hard business of saying “No.” But five years have made the cure almost complete.

Surely, if life means anything at all, it means that each of us is entrusted with a certain irreplaceable fund of hours and weeks and years. To let anybody and everybody fritter that fund away is as if the trustee of an estate were to deposit the estate’s funds in a bank and issue check books to whoever applied.

--

--

Iain K. MacLeod
Quote Wall

He/Him | Born to be mild. Great great great grand-nephew of Angus “Giant” MacAskill. Worked skateboard check at 1994 Gobblefest. Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada