Inspiring love poems around web

Sarah Benois
Quotes and Poems
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2017

I spent my all day to remember and curate these poems. What was beautiful about this is how there is more to love than romance. Love can be about friendship, the divine. Love can mean compassion and acceptance. Love can hurt. Love remains one of our humanity’s biggest mystery. Here the best lines from these poems:

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart)
E. E. Cummings (1894–1962)

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
my heart) i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing, my darling)

From Allpoetry

I loved you first: but afterwards your love
Christina Rossetti (1830–1894)

I loved you first: but afterwards your love
Outsoaring mine, sang such a loftier song
As drowned the friendly cooings of my dove.

Which owes the other most? my love was long,
And yours one moment seemed to wax more strong;
I loved and guessed at you, you construed me
And loved me for what might or might not be –
Nay, weights and measures do us both a wrong.

For verily love knows not ‘mine’ or ‘thine;’
With separate ‘I’ and ‘thou’ free love has done,
For one is both and both are one in love:
Rich love knows nought of ‘thine that is not mine;’
Both have the strength and both the length thereof,
Both of us, of the love which makes us one.

From Romantic Poems to Make Her Feel Special

Pablo Neruda

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.”

Valentine
Carol Ann Duffy (1955- )

Not a red rose or a satin heart.
I give you an onion.
It is a moon wrapped in brown paper.
It promises light
like the careful undressing of love.

Here.
It will blind you with tears
like a lover.
It will make your reflection
a wobbling photo of grief.

Source: Deep and Cute Love Poems for My Boyfriend

A Glimpse
Walt Whitman (1819–1892)

A glimpse through an interstice caught,
Of a crowd of workmen and drivers in a bar-room around the stove late of a winter night, and I unremark’d seated in a corner,
Of a youth who loves me and whom I love, silently approaching and seating himself near, that he may hold me by the hand,
A long while amid the noises of coming and going, of drinking and oath and smutty jest,
There we two, content, happy in being together, speaking little, perhaps not a word.

Elizabeth Barrett Browning

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of every day’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from praise,
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints -I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! -and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.”

Found at Collection of I Miss You Poems

I Wanna Be Yours
John Cooper Clarke (1949 — )

let me be your electric meter
I will not run out
let me be the electric heater
you get cold without

Suggested Reading:

Love Poems from Rumi

Cute and Romantic Love Poems from Famous Poets

--

--