Minimalism: How Coliving With Less Gives Us More

The less you own, the less that owns you

Qwerky
The Future of Living

--

Photo: 500px

Article by David Lowe

Minimalism is the intentional promotion of the things we most value and the removal of anything that distracts us from it.

I came across minimalism by accident.

I started to find myself changing the channel on TV every time a commercial came on and then eventually, I turned it off. I wanted to watch TV commercial free.

That then triggered a realization: I just don’t want to buy the stuff that companies are trying to force me to buy.

I looked at most people and saw how the Jones Theory had taken hold. It was kind of depressing. The anxiety most people were experiencing because they didn’t have the big house, nice car and white picket fence was all caused by advertising.

I decided to take a stand.

I decided to stop worrying about stuff and invest more time and energy in experiences.

I didn’t have to wait for a Spring clean or a house move to clear out things I didn’t need.

I found myself doing it frequently. It was so liberating to realize that I actually needed very few things I had.

--

--

Qwerky
The Future of Living

Qwerky combines micro-living with coliving. Stay with like minded people. Live with purpose: Qwerky.co